Missed Calling

March 17, 2011

“GOOD LAWD!” That’s all that came to mind as I gazed at my bill from the Mexican food side shop at LAX for an order of chicken nachos and two beers – the beers alone were $10 bucks a pop. I knew I should’ve eaten more at home before leaving. (Dang, that just reminded me of the chicken I left in the fridge that will now smell tangy when I get back.) (Uh, how long does pizza stay edible?)

Never, my friends, yes NEVER eat at the airport unless you’re ready to drop some vacation cash without even leaving the state you live in! So sad. And the crazy thing is the airport is full of places like that – you know, places that sell things you don’t need but figure somehow that you do need them because you’re going on vacation and it would be so awesome to have these needless things because you have so much room in that backpack that already weighs like a thousand pounds! (Sigh.)

Oh look, StarChucks! How about getting a feel-good coffee for $30 bucks! Wait, don’t pass up the book store, you know you’ve been dying to read a novel that’s oh, let say hundreds of pages long full of five dollar words you don’t even  understand, let alone know how to pronounce! AS IF! Yep, tack on another $20 bucks and you’ve yet to set foot on a plane.

Oh yes, someone IS complaining here. I shake my head in disappointment in self – why couldn’t I get my foot in the door, so to speak, and sell you things you don’t need while coasting around waiting to board your flight to freedom? Perhaps a shop that sells “must have” Dodger player bobble-heads, key chains that scream “I (heart) Venice Beach!”, or simply a store that sells Mexican candies and Luchadore Wrestling Masks? I would vow to keep my prices low – in fact, instead of the .99 cent store, I’d call it the $9.99 cent store- and you’d still come out a winner!

Yes, another missed calling.

Comments are closed.

